The Ups and Downs…

BASED ON TRUE LIFE EVENTS!

Someone rightly said, “When life gives you lemons make a lemonade.” Life isn’t that easy. Not a bed of roses, as the traditional saying goes by. Life is a precious gift bestowed upon us. Its not the same for everyone. Well, not for me at least.

I was in the 5th semester of PGDM when placements season had started. As a fresher I was anxious for interviews. So, as my sister suggested I applied though various Job Portals too as we should not wholly be dependent on college placements. I went for about 20 interviews before I could sit for final interviews. Many companies were coming with good packages as well as good profiles. As a PGDM student in HR, I made a note of all the companies which were announced. After various tiring discussions with family, friends and professors I applied to the shortlisted companies. Now, the D-Day arrives where there would be campus interviews. Companies would be visiting the campus and there will be a placement scenario where there would be joy and sorrow.

I got up late as I had to go college and ask for results of applied companies. Out of 8 brilliantly great marketing students I got selected for the profile of Content Writer-Corporate Communications. I was overjoyed as the company was big as well as the pay (the pay for HR jobs was low, so I was all the more happy); and started preparing for the final day. After two days was my interview date. I got up late as the interview was late. Started revising all notes, marketing concepts and had a bath and got ready. Reached the interview location one hour in advance so, the receptionist asked me to go have lunch and come. There was a Pizza Hut nearby, I had pizza and went back for the  interview. I waited and my turn came. I was all shaky and nervous as if I had committed a crime.

The HR came in and asked me to sit in the interview room and in brief introduce myself. Later on he gave a form to be filled in. I had gone for the Content Writers role so, had a short test to check my writing skills. The manager found it good enough. Had an hour long manager’s round where I manipulated as well as used my convincing skills to grab the role. The manager had a good chat with me and then later on explained the role to me. I agreed upon the terms and conditions and told him about my salary expectations.

Later on the director of the team came and interacted with me. He seemed to be happy with me. Just a 5 minutes meet it was.

Later on Manju, the HR came in to take me to head of Talent Acquisition where my salary negotiations had taken place. I gave in a xerox of all my documents. Then I realized I had been selected for the role. I was on cloud nine. Gave away my joy to family, friends and my Best Friend. Wohooooo!!!!!!!!!Yipppeeee!!!!!!!!!! I finally nailed the job and got some laurels for my college.

2 days down the line a confirmation mail was sent out to the college group saying that “Congrats on you being selected by X Healthcare Services, confirmed by the company.  The offer and other details will come by tomorrow afternoon. We wish you all the best for your career.”

I was waiting for the joining date. In the meantime I had to concentrate on my last semester and pass the exam. Since most of us were placed college was only on Saturdays and rest were e-learning materials. I was able to juggle for 15 days between college and work. I don’t know what happened, my health started deteriorating badly. I used to faint in the bus, malls as well as at the doctors clinic. I could not go to office, neither college nor anywhere. Just wanted to be at home all the time. No matter what source of transport I used to take for office I just could not travel. These unfortunate circumstances made me lose my job, and I do not regret as “health is wealth.”

Now what? I was sitting jobless, penniless ( i had lost my wallet containing all the money and atm’s) and had nothing to do rather than finding jobs again. I somehow gathered myself again and with renewed energy and motivation ( self, parents, sister and my best friend) I started preparing for interviews. After nearly a half century of rejections I got a job. It was that of an IT Recruiter. That job was similar to a tele callers job and had nothing related to HR. SO, I left the job. In the meantime I got multiple positions offers from my dream company (Time Inc). Every time I went there I cleared the excel rounds but could not clear the managerial round.

I got a random mail from CGI one day saying they are hiring HR fresher’s for the role of associate business analyst. I applied. There were five levels of rounds and I cleared all of them. I got selected and now I am self satisfied.

 

Throughout this journey what I found out about myself was that I never lost my calm, patience, positivity and internal strength. I would through my story like to draw everyone’s attention towards the fact that:

  1.  Never lose hope whatever the situation be
  2. Trust yourself as well as God
  3. Your well wishers are there for you at all times
  4. Ups and downs keep coming and going, never GIVE UP
  5. God helps them who helps themselves
  6. God in one way or the other channelizes our lives
  7. Keep working hard

 

 

Leave a comment